State Specific Action Plan

State Specific Action Plan

The water resources situation, its development, management and availability vary considerably from State to State. Many of the identified strategies/actions to achieve the goals of the NWM, are required to be taken by the State Governments/Union Territories. In this context, it is highly desirable to develop State Specific Action Plans for Water Sector aligned with the State Action Plan on Climate Change formulated by the States under NAPCC which give the holistic roadmap to achieve the desired goals. The State specific Action Plans would essentially consist of-

(a)  Present situation of water resources development and management, water governance, Institutional arrangements, water related policies, cross-boundary issues, agreements etc. This would constitute the Status Report on the State/Union Territory. The document should also define problems/issues related to all the aspects of water resources specific to the State.

(b)  Identifying a set of probable solutions to address the key issues/problem areas giving pros and cons of the solutions.

(c)  Preparation of detailed Action Plan for each of the Strategy/activity identified in the NWM to be implemented by the State/Union Territory.

A Sub-committee meeting for Preparation of Framework of State Specific Action Plan for Water Sector was held on 13th August 2015 and Officials of Central Water Commission, NWDA and CGWB attended the meeting.  A meeting was organized with the States of Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Odisha, Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Assam, Karnataka, Chhattisgarh, Gujarat, Tamil Nadu, Uttarakhand and West Bengal on 18-09-2015 during which the Terms of Reference for the SSAP were finalized. The State Govt’s have been requested to prepare the SSAP of water sector for which Government of India would provide a grant of Rs 50 lakh to the 'Major' States and Rs 30 lakh to the 'Small' states. 

A MoU has been signed between NERIWALM, Tezpur, Assam and National Water Mission on the 16th February 2016. NERIWALM, Tezpur, Assam shall act as the Nodal Agency to get the State Specific action plan for water sector prepared from the following twelve states in Phase I – Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Gujarat, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, West Bengal, Tamil Nadu, Telangana, Odisha, Uttarakhand and Chhattisgarh

 Read more from attached files-